Go to Top

Daft Punk Split, Releasing 8-Minute Long ‘Epilogue’ Video

Iconic duo Daft Punk announce their break up in true cinematic fashion.

The nearly 30-year music collaboration between Daft Punk’s Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo is over as signaled by the just-released video of the Daft Punk Break Up – Epilogue. The video is taken from their 2006 film Electroma, which features their Random Access Memories track Touch as we follow the duo, dressed in their iconic helmets and “Daft Punk” adorned jackets, into the desert for one explosive (admittedly, very sad) send-off.

Daft Punk has had major success over the years, winning six Grammy Awards and launching international hits with One More Time, Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger, and Get Lucky. Bangalter and de Homem-Christo met at a Paris school in 1987 and prior to Daft Punk, they formed an indie rock band named Darling. The duo officially formed Daft Punk in 1993, and the helmeted, mute, and mysterious musicians released their debut album, Homework in 1997. They first found success with the international hit Da Funk which topped the Billboard dance charts and earned them their first Grammy nomination.

A second No. 1 hit and Grammy nomination followed with Around the World. A year later, a live version of Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger won Daft Punk the best dance recording Grammy — their first win — and their Alive 2007 album picked up best electronic/dance album. In 2014, they really took the spotlight, winning album of the year for Random Access Memories, the first time an electronic act would win the highest honor at the Grammys. Random Access Memories was regarded as a genre-bending album highlighted by its mix of live instrumentation, disco sounds, funk, rock, R&B, and more. Rolling Stone ranked it No. 295 on their list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time” last year.